© 2017 created by LGLA

  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon

2018 Lake George Courtesy Boating Rules and Wisconsin State Boating Regulations

 

  • Personal water craft (PWC) operation, water skiing, tubing and related recreational activities are restricted to the hours of 10:00 A.M.to 7:00 P.M.

 

  • Between the hours of 7:00 P.M. and 10:00 A.M. boat speeds are not to exceed 20 miles per hour

 

  • All boats and PWC are required to have one accessible life jacket per person in the boat or on the PWC occupants. In addition, one USCG-approved Type IV (throwable device) PFD must be on board vessels 16 feet or longer and immediately available.

 

  • It is against the law to operate any watercraft within 100 feet of the shoreline, any dock, pier, marked swimming area, raft or another watercraft at a speed in excess of "slow-no-wake."

 

  • It is against the law to operate a PWC within 200 feet of the shoreline of the lake at a speed greater than "slow, no wake.: It is thus illegal to circle either of the islands on the lake with a PWC at a speed in excess of "slow, no wake."

 

​          MOTORBOATS

 

  • A person 10 years of age may not operate a motorboat.

 

  • A person 10 or 11 years old may operate a motorboat only if accompanied by a parent, a guardian, or a person at least 18 years old who is designated by the parent or guardian.

 

  • A person 12-15 years old may operate a motorboat only if    

  •             He or she is accompanied by a parent, a guardian, or a             person at least 18 years old who is designated by the parent or             guardian OR...

  •             He or she has completed a boating safety course that is accepted             by the Wisconsin DNR.

 

  • A person at least 16 years old may operate a motorboat only if he or she has completed a boating safety course that is accepted by the Wisconsin DNR. A person born before January 1, 1989, is exempt from the safety course requirement. 

 

​          PERSONAL WATERCRAFT (PWC) 

 

  • A person under the age of 12 may not operate a PWC.

 

  • A person 12 - 15 years old may operate a PWC only if he or she has completed a boating safety course that is accepted by the Wisconsin DNR. (Parental supervision is not a substitute for a boating safety course certificate as with other motorboats.)

 

  • A person at least 16 years old may operate a PWC only if he or she has completed a boating safety course that is accepted by the Wisconsin DNR. A person born before January 1, 1989, is exempt from the safety course requirement.

 

  • A person under 16 years old may not rent or lease a PWC.

 

It is against the law to operate a motorboat, PWC or use water skis, tubes or similar devices while under the influence of alcohol or with a blood alcohol concertration of .08% of higher.

 

 

The above and all other Wisconsin Boating and Fishing Regulations must be observed as stated in the Wisconsin Boating Regulations and Fishing Regulations handbooks. These boating rules and regulations are intended to protect the safety and enhance the pleasure of all those who use the lake.

 

LAKE GEORGE IS REGULARLY PATROLLED BY LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS OF THE WISCONSIN DNR AND THE ONEIDA COUNTY SHERIFF'S DEPARTMENT. All boats and PWC must stop for duly authorized patrol boats displaying a flashing blue light or requesting the operator to stop by any other method. 

 

To Report Violations

CALL 1-715-365-8900